Spiderline Imprint Logo

Soon

Written by Charlotte Grimshaw

  • 320 Pages
  • 9781770894358
  • FICTION / Suspense
  • FICTION

$11.87 $16.95

PRINT VERSION ALSO AVAILABLE

Publication Date September 30, 2013

During the long summer holiday, the Lampton and Hallwright families gather in a large beach house belonging to Prime Minister David Hallwright and his wife Roza. The weather is perfect and outwardly all is well, but tension is brewing underneath the surface.

There is an unusual bond uniting the two families — one that forced their meeting and sustains their relationship. And one that threatens to destroy it. You see, the Lamptons and Hallwrights share something, but it’s something neither family is willing to give up. As the vacation progresses, it becomes increasingly clear that there are some important secrets that need to be kept quiet; secrets that could ruin them all if they became public; and secrets that might impinge their moral sensibilities . . .

In Soon, Charlotte Grimshaw takes readers on a journey through the world of privilege, power, and politics, exposing the dark side of human nature. This is an exhilarating and thought-provoking novel, in the vein of The Dinner and Gone Girl, that questions how far people will go to protect themselves and all they hold dear.

Contributors

Charlotte Grimshaw
Charlotte Grimshaw is the author of four critically acclaimed novels, Provocation, Guilt, Foreign City, and Soon. She lives in Auckland, New Zealand. She has won the Buddle Findlay Sargeson Fellowship for Literature, the Bank of New Zealand Katherine Mansfield Award, the Montana Medal (New Zealand’s premier award for fiction), and has been a finalist for the Frank O’Connor International Story Prize. She lives in Auckland, New Zealand.

Reviews

"Grimshaw's writing never stands still. The narrative belts along, pausing just long enough for characters to tie themselves into another bunch of knots. She has a wickedly accurate ear for the banalities of dialogue and the jargon of power plays..." New Zealand Herald

"...people seeking a tightly plotted, incisive depiction of the corrosive effects of power will find time spent reading this novel well invested." Publisher's Weekly

"This is a truly riveting novel." Globe and Mail

"...Grimshaw brilliantly demonstrates how far the boundaries of the crime genre can now be expanded." Edmonton Journal