House of Anansi Press

Girl Runner

A Novel Anansi Book Club Editions

Written by Carrie Snyder

Published August 29, 2014 | ISBN 9781770894334
FICTION / Literary

Cover of Girl Runner

Regular price $16.95 CAD

376 pages
Digital Format

About this book

Girl Runner

A Novel

Anansi Book Club Editions

Carrie Snyder

Reader's Guide ↓

Girl Runner is the story of Aganetha Smart, a former Olympic athlete who was famous in the 1920s, but now, at age 104, lives in a nursing home, alone and forgotten by history. For Aganetha, a competitive and ambitious woman, her life remains present and unfinished in her mind.

When her quiet life is disturbed by the unexpected arrival of two young strangers, Aganetha begins to reflect on her childhood in rural Ontario and her struggles to make an independent life for herself in the city.

Without revealing who they are, or what they may want from her, the visitors take Aganetha on an outing from the nursing home. As ready as ever for adventure, Aganetha’s memories are stirred when the pair return her to the family farm where she was raised. The devastation of WWI and the Spanish flu epidemic, the optimism of the 1920s and the sacrifices of the 1930s play out in Aganetha’s mind, as she wrestles with the confusion and displacement of the present.

Part historical page-turner, part contemporary mystery, Girl Runner is an engaging and endearing story about family, ambition, athletics and the dedicated pursuit of one’s passions. It is also, ultimately, about a woman who follows the singular, heart-breaking and inspiring course of her life until the very end.

About the Author

Carrie Snyder

Carrie Snyder is the author of two books of short fiction. Her first, Hair Hat, was shortlisted for the Danuta Gleed Award for Short Fiction, and her second, The Juliet Stories was a finalist for the 2012 Governor General’s Literary Award. Visit Carrie Snyder's blog: Follow Carrie Snyder on Twitter:

Awards and Praise
so beautifully written…one of my favourites of the year
  • Short-listed Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize, 2014