Please click for more information about shipping during the COVID-19 pandemic.

House of Anansi Press


Written by Kathleen Winter

Published February 26, 2011 | ISBN 9780887842900

Cover of Annabel

Regular price $19.95 CAD

480 pages | 8 in × 5.25 in
Print Format

Also Available as an Ebook

About this book


Anansi Book Club Editions

Kathleen Winter

Reader's Guide ↓

Shortlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize, the Governor General's Award for Fiction, and the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize

In 1968, into the beautiful, spare environment of remote coastal Labrador, a mysterious child is born: a baby who appears to be neither fully boy nor girl, but both at once.

Only three people are privy to the secret — the baby's parents, Jacinta and Treadway, and a trusted neighbour, Thomasina. Together the adults make a difficult decision: to raise the child as a boy named Wayne. But as Wayne grows to adulthood within the hyper-masculine hunting culture of his father, his shadow-self — a girl he thinks of as "Annabel" — is never entirely extinguished, and indeed is secretly nurtured by the women in his life.

Haunting, sweeping in scope, and stylistically reminiscent of Jeffrey Eugenides' Middlesex, Annabel is a compelling tale about one person's struggle to discover the truth about their birth and self in a culture that shuns contradiction.

About the Author

Kathleen Winter

Kathleen Winter is a novelist, short-story writer and scriptwriter. She lives in Montreal, Quebec. Visit Kathleen Winter's blog: Follow Kathleen on Twitter:

Awards and Praise
...a stunning novel, one of the rare kind that might well imbed itself permanently in a reader's psyche.
  • Long-listed ReLit Awards: Novel, 2011
  • Short-listed Scotiabank Giller Prize, 2010
  • Short-listed CBC Bookies: Best Scene, 2011
  • Short-listed Governor General's Award: Fiction, 2010
  • Long-listed IMPAC Dublin Literary Award, 2011
  • Commended Globe and Mail Top 100 Books of the Year, 2010
  • Short-listed CBC Bookies: Best Overall Book, 2011
  • Commended Quill and Quire Books of the Year, 2010
  • Short-listed First Novel Award, 2011
  • Short-listed Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize, 2010