House of Anansi Press Imprint Logo

Eleven Canadian Novelists Interviewed by Graeme Gibson

Written by Graeme Gibson

Series Title: A List

  • 336 Pages
  • 9781770898165



Publication Date August 15, 2014

Originally published in 1970, Eleven Canadian Novelists Interviewed by Graeme Gibson is a collection of candid and wide-ranging interviews with Canadian writers, including Alice Munro, Mordecai Richler, Margaret Laurence, and more.

With the intuition of an insider, Gibson asks the important questions: In what way is writing important to you? Do writers know something special? Does he or she have any responsibility to society? The result is a fascinating and immensely readable series of conversations with famed writers at the beginning of their careers.

The A List edition will feature a new introduction by Graeme Gibson and interviews with the following authors:
Margaret Atwood
Austin Clarke
Matt Cohen
Marian Engel
Timothy Findley
Dave Godfrey
Margaret Laurence
Jack Ludwig
Alice Munro
Mordecai Richler
Scott Symons


Graeme Gibson
Graeme Gibson is the acclaimed author of Five Legs, Communion, Perpetual Motion, and Gentleman Death. He is a long-time cultural activist, and co-founder of the Writer's Union of Canada and the Writers' Trust. He is a past president of PEN Canada and the recipient of both the Harbourfront Festival Prize and the Toronto Arts Award, and is a Member of the Order of Canada. He lives in Toronto.