Please click for more information about shipping during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Anansi International

Fear

Written by Dirk Kurbjuweit • Translated by Imogen Taylor

Published October 21, 2017 | ISBN 9781487002848
FICTION / Thrillers / Psychological

Cover of Fear

Regular price $16.95 CAD

304 pages | 8.50 in × 5.50 in
Digital Format

Also Available in Print

About this book

Fear

Dirk Kurbjuweit • Imogen Taylor

A masterpiece of psychological suspense for fans of The Dinner and We Need to Talk About Kevin.

Randolph Tiefenthaler insists he had a normal childhood, though he grew up with a father who kept thirty loaded guns in the house. A modestly successful architect with an attractive, intelligent wife, Rebecca, and two children, Randolph finds his life turned upside down when his father, a man he loves yet has always feared, is imprisoned for murder.

Fear is the story of the twisted events leading up to his father’s incarceration. It begins when Randolph and his family move into a new building and meet their neighbour, Dieter Tiberius, the peculiar yet seemingly friendly man living in the basement apartment. As the Tiefenthalers settle into their home, they become increasingly disturbed as Dieter’s strange behaviour turns malevolent — sending erotic letters to Rebecca, spying, making accusations of child abuse, and filing police reports he against the Tiefenthalers. Finally, Randolph confesses his own feelings of desperation and helplessness, which ultimately lead to his father’s intervention.