Anansi International

Fever

Translated by K.L. Seegers • Written by Deon Meyer

Published September 02, 2017 | ISBN 9781487003074
FICTION / Dystopian

Cover of Fever

Regular price $22.95 CAD

544 pages | 9 in × 6 in
Print Format

Also Available as an Ebook

About this book

Fever

K.L. Seegers • Deon Meyer

An epic story of survival and betrayal for fans of Station Eleven and The Road.

Nico Storm and his father Willem drive a truck through a desolate land. They are among the few in South Africa to have survived a devastating virus that wiped out over 90 percent of the world’s population.

Willem, a thinker and a leader, has a vision for a new community rebuilt from the ruins of the old world. And so Amanzi is formed of a disparate group of survivors: there’s Melinda Swanevelder, rescued from brutal thugs; Hennie Flaai, with his vital Cessna plane; Beryl Fortuin, with her ragtag group of orphans; and Domingo, the man with the tattooed hand. And then there is Sofia Bergman, the most beautiful girl that Nico has ever seen.

As the community grows, so do the challenges it must face — not just from external attacks, but also from within. Nico’s strength and loyalty will be tested as he undergoes an extraordinary rite of passage in this dangerous new world.

Awards and Praise

Fever by Deon Meyer is reminiscent of The Stand and The Passage. Great stuff.” — Stephen King

“Deon Meyer is one of the unsung masters.” — Michael Connelly

“A thought-provoking, postapocalyptic examination of the human condition. . . . With its stunning final revelation, this is a remarkable literary achievement.” — Booklist, STARRED REVIEW

“Meyer neatly integrates a whodunit into a sophisticated postapocalyptic thriller set in South Africa. . . . Thoughtful character development complements the clever storytelling.” — Publishers Weekly, STARRED REVIEW

“There are shades of Cormac McCarthy’s superb The Road, but Fever grips even more.” — Times (London)

“Compelling, action-packed and fraught with emotion. At its heart [Fever] is a powerful exploration of humanity at its best and worst and bears favourable comparison with landmarks of the genre such as Stephen King’s The Stand and Cormac McCarthy’s The Road. Simply stunning.” — Daily Express

“The defining novelist of modern South Africa.” — Independent