Arachnide Editions

October 1970

Translated by Wayne Grady • Written by Louis Hamelin

Published September 21, 2013 | ISBN 9781770891036
FICTION / Literary

Cover of October 1970

Regular price $24.95 CAD

| 9 in × 6 in
Print Format

Also Available as an Ebook

About this book

October 1970

Wayne Grady • Louis Hamelin

Reader's Guide ↓

Longlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize. Selected as an Amazon.ca Best Book.

October 1970. Two kidnappings. One dead. A crisis unlike anything the country had ever seen — here is the story behind history . . .

Thirty years after the October Crisis, Sam Nihilo, a freelance writer whose career is in a slump, is drawn to the conspiracy theories that have proliferated in the wake of the events. While investigating the death of one of the FLQ hostages, Nihilo sees his life consumed by an inquiry that leads him further into a flurry of facts, both known and newly discovered. Soon, secret agents, corrupt police officers, politicians, and former terrorists of the Front de Liberation du Quebec form a mysterious constellation around him, and at the centre lies a complicated and dangerous truth.

In the tradition of Don DeLillo's Libra, October 1970 is a thrilling fictional account of the events that shaped one of the most volatile moments in recent history.

About the Creators

Wayne Grady

Wayne Grady is the author of fourteen books of science and natural history and the editor of six anthologies of short stories. His translations of Daniel Poliquin's Black Squirrel and Francine D'Amour's Return from Africa were shortlisted for the Governor General's Literary Award, and he is the winner of the John Glassco Prize and the Governor General's Literary Award for Translation. He lives near Kingston, Ontario, with his wife, novelist Merilyn Simonds.

Louis Hamelin

Louis Hamelin is a novelist and academic. His novel La Rage won the Governor General’s Literary Award for French Fiction in 1989. He is a literary critic for Le Devoir and Ici Montréal. He lives in Sherbrooke, Quebec.

Awards and Praise
  • Commended Amazon.ca Best Books: Editors' Picks, 2013
  • Commended Quill & Quire Books of the Year: Review Editor's Choice, 2013
  • Long-listed Scotiabank Giller Prize, 2013