Please click for more information about shipping during the COVID-19 pandemic.

House of Anansi Press

Selected Poems 1983–2020

Written by Steven Heighton

Published April 06, 2021 | ISBN 9781487007386
POETRY / Canadian / General

Cover of Selected Poems 1983–2020

Regular price $19.95 CAD

96 pages
Digital Format

About this book

Selected Poems 1983–2020

Steven Heighton

This collection of new and previously published poems by Steven Heighton, author of the Governor General’s Literary Award winner The Waking Comes Late, showcases a defining lyric poet of his generation.

Selected Poems 1983–2020 is Steven Heighton’s seventh volume of poetry and the first since his Governor General’s Literary Award–winning collection, The Waking Comes Late. Incorporating a grouping of previously unpublished poetry and a selection of key poems from his six previous acclaimed collections, this timely volume showcases a generational talent whose work has been described by critics as “exhilarating,” “genuine,” and “arrestingly beautiful.”

Heighton’s debut collection, Stalin’s Carnival,won the Gerald Lampert Award for Best First Book of Poetry in 1990. Subsequent books, which include bestselling novels, essays, and critical writings, confirmed Heighton as an exciting and important voice in Canadian letters. Heighton’s poetry is recognised for its technical skill and musicality, its erudition, and its empathy and unvarnished emotion.

About the Author

Steven Heighton

Steven Heighton is a critically acclaimed novelist and poet. He lives with his family in Kingston, Ontario. Visit Stephen Heighton's website: