Erasing Memory

Erasing Memory

A MacNeice Mystery

Written by: Thornley, Scott
From the series: The MacNeice Mysteries

The heart-pounding first installment of the MacNeice Mysteries, featuring a sophisticated detective solving the horrific murder of a beautiful young violinist — perfect for fans of Peter Robinson’s Alan Banks series.

Detective Superintendent MacNeice is returning from a pilgrimage to his wife’s grave when he’s called to a crime scene of singular and disturbing beauty. A young woman in evening dress lies gracefully posed on the floor of a pristine summer cottage so that the finger of one hand regularly interrupts the needle arm of a phonograph playing Schubert’s Piano Trio. The only visible mark on her is the bruise under her chin, which MacNeice recognizes: it is the mark that distinguishes dedicated violinists, the same mark that once graced his wife. The murder is both ingenious and horrific, and soon entangles MacNeice and his team in Eastern Europe’s ancient grievances…

The heart-pounding first installment of the MacNeice Mysteries, featuring a sophisticated detective solving the horrific murder of a beautiful young violinist — perfect for fans of Peter Robinson’s Alan Banks series.

Detective Superintendent MacNeice is returning from a pilgrimage to his wife’s grave when he’s called to a crime scene of singular and disturbing beauty. A young woman in evening dress lies gracefully posed on the floor of a pristine summer cottage so that the finger of one hand regularly interrupts the needle arm of a phonograph playing Schubert’s Piano Trio. The only visible mark on her is the bruise under her chin, which MacNeice recognizes: it is the mark that distinguishes dedicated violinists, the same mark that once graced his wife. The murder is both ingenious and horrific, and soon entangles MacNeice and his team in Eastern Europe’s ancient grievances…

Published By House of Anansi Press Inc - Jun 26, 2018
Specifications pages | 5.5 in x 8 in
Supporting Resources
(select item to download)
Excerpt

Praise for Scott Thornley and Erasing Memory:

“[An] impressive debut … Superb writing, complex and highly likable characters, and the occasional delicious burst of violence definitely make the next books in this series worth watching for.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Not since P. D. James’s Adam Dalgliesh has there been a police inspector as sophisticated as MacNeice.” — Toronto Star

“The reader is … compelled to go on, in part because that killer, if not a superior, twisted mind, is a first-class jerk and we love to see such people get their comeuppance.” — National Post

“Thornley’s intelligent and evocative prose, combined with his depictions of complex police investigations, brings to mind one of Canada’s most prominent, bestselling crime writers, Peter Robinson.” — Quill & Quire

“This series will be a real winner.” — Margaret Cannon, Globe and Mail

“A page-turner with a Sherlockian twist.” — Hamilton Spectator

“An auspicious debut for author Scott Thornley.” — Salon

“MacNeice is a splendid addition to the pantheon of [literary] detectives…. A first-class mystery.” — Vancouver Sun

“For crime fiction junkies, Scott Thornley’s first novel, Erasing Memory, a beautifully written police procedural set in a fictional version of Hamilton, just whets our appetite for more. Our hero, senior homicide detective Mac MacNeice, a literate and complex man who may remind the reader of Peter Robinson’s beloved Inspector Banks, runs an interesting team of investigators dealing with a truly weird murder. Please tell me this is the first of a series.” — Stevie Cameron, author of On the Farm: Robert William Pickton and the Tragic Story of Vancouver's Missing Women

“Beginning with a murder unlike any you've ever imagined — or would want to — Scott Thornley spins a gripping tale whose heroes and villains are equally and refreshingly human.” — Howard Shrier, author of Buffalo Jump

Praise for Scott Thornley and The Ambitious City:

“Terrific…. Thornley blends history into a really good cop-shop story…. Read this and then look for the first MacNeice book, Erasing Memory.” — Globe and Mail

“No writer grabs the violent new zeitgeist more firmly than Scott Thornley with his second book, The Ambitious City.” — Toronto Star

“Captivating…. Along with a terrific plot, Thornley produces prose that is both hard-hitting and thoughtful…. I’m already anticipating MacNeice’s next investigation.” — Edmonton Journal

Praise for Scott Thornley and Raw Bone:

“This is stellar police-procedural writing that takes in characters, history and, most of all, place. Dundurn is beautifully and sordidly rendered in all its glory as MacNeice tracks a killer with a message…. Those who like solid clue-hunting will love this series.” — Globe and Mail