House of Anansi Press


Written by Kathleen Winter

Published June 26, 2010 | ISBN 9780887842764
FICTION / Literary

Cover of Annabel

Regular price $16.95 CAD

480 pages
Digital Format

Also Available in Print

About this book


Kathleen Winter

Shortlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize, the Governor General's Award for Fiction, and the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize

In 1968, into the beautiful, spare environment of remote coastal Labrador, a mysterious child is born: a baby who appears to be neither fully boy nor girl, but both at once.

Only three people are privy to the secret — the baby's parents, Jacinta and Treadway, and a trusted neighbour, Thomasina. Together the adults make a difficult decision: to raise the child as a boy named Wayne. But as Wayne grows to adulthood within the hyper-masculine hunting culture of his father, his shadow-self — a girl he thinks of as "Annabel" — is never entirely extinguished, and indeed is secretly nurtured by the women in his life.

Haunting, sweeping in scope, and stylistically reminiscent of Jeffrey Eugenides' Middlesex, Annabel is a compelling tale about one person's struggle to discover the truth about their birth and self in a culture that shuns contradiction.

Now featuring a preview of Kathleen Winter's latest nonfiction work, Boundless: Tracing Land and Dream in a New Northwest Passage

About the Author

Kathleen Winter

Kathleen Winter is the author of the international bestseller, Annabel, which was a finalist for the Scotiabank Giller Prize, the Governor General’s Literary Award, the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize, the Orange Prize for Fiction, and CBC’s Canada Reads. Her first collection of stories, boys, won both the Winterset Award and the Metcalf–Rooke Award. A long-time resident of St. John’s, Newfoundland, she now lives in Montreal.

Awards and Praise
Annabel's strength lies in probing the dilemma of sexuality and self-knowledge. I have never read such an intimate portrait of a person struggling to live inside a self that the world sees as a dreadful mistake.
  • Short-listed CBC Bookies: Best Scene, 2011
  • Short-listed Scotiabank Giller Prize, 2010
  • Short-listed OLA Evergreen Award, 2011
  • Short-listed First Novel Award, 2011
  • Commended Globe and Mail Top 100 Books of the Year, 2010
  • Long-listed ReLit Awards: Novel, 2011
  • Commended Best Books of the Year, 2010
  • Long-listed IMPAC Dublin Literary Award, 2011
  • Winner Independent Literary Awards, 2010
  • Short-listed Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize, 2010