Please click for more information about shipping during the COVID-19 pandemic.

A List

De Niro's Game

Written by Rawi Hage • Introduction by Colm Toibin

Published January 01, 2006 | ISBN 9781770892644
FICTION / Literary

Cover of De Niro's Game

Regular price $14.95 CAD

288 pages
Digital Format

Also Available in Print

About this book

De Niro's Game

A List

Rawi Hage • Colm Toibin

There is but one truly serious philosophical problem, and that is suicide. In Rawi Hage's unforgettable novel, winner of the 2008 IMPAC Prize, this famous quote by Camus becomes a touchstone for two young men caught in Lebanon's civil war. Bassam and George are childhood best friends who have grown to adulthood in war torn Beirut. Now they must choose their futures: to stay in the city and consolidate power through crime; or to go into exile abroad, alienated from the only existence they have known. Bassam chooses one path: obsessed with leaving Beirut, he embarks on a series of petty crimes to finance his departure. Meanwhile, George builds his power in the underworld of the city and embraces a life of military service, crime for profit, killing, and drugs.

Told in the voice of Bassam, De Niro's Game is a beautiful, explosive portrait of a contemporary young man shaped by a lifelong experience of war. Rawi Hage's brilliant style mimics a world gone mad: so smooth and apparently sane that its razor-sharp edges surprise and cut deeply. A powerful meditation on life and death in a war zone, and what comes after.

About the Author

Rawi Hage

Rawi Hage is a writer, a visual artist, and curator. His debut novel, De Niro’s Game, won the IMPAC Dublin Literary Award and was translated into several languages. Cockroach, his second novel, was a finalist for many prestigious awards, including the Scotiabank Giller Prize. He lives in Montreal.

Colm Toibin

Awards and Praise
  • Short-listed Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize, 2007
  • Short-listed Governor General's Literary Awards: Fiction, 2006
  • Winner IMPAC Dublin Literary Award, 2008
  • Short-listed Scotiabank Giller Prize, 2006
  • Winner QWF Paragraphe Hugh MacLennan Prize for Fiction, 2006
  • Winner QWF McAuslan First Book Prize, 2006