Small Game Hunting at the Local Coward Gun Club is a Canada Reads contender!



An Uncle Chow Tung Novel   |   The Lost Decades of Uncle Chow Tung: Book 1

Written by Ian Hamilton

Published January 22, 2019 | ISBN 9781487003876
FICTION / Mystery & Detective / International Crime & Mystery

Cover of Fate

Regular price $16.95 CAD

304 pages
Digital Format

Also Available in Print

About this book


An Uncle Chow Tung Novel

The Lost Decades of Uncle Chow Tung: Book 1

Ian Hamilton

Hong Kong, 1970. The Dragon Head (also known as the Mountain Master) of the Fanling Triad has died and there is a struggle to replace him among senior members of the gang. Normally, the Deputy Mountain Master is next in line, but this one is weak and ineffectual and has only survived because of the protection of the Dragon Head. Up to this point, the Fanling Triad has operated in relative isolation from neighbouring gangs, but the Dragon Head’s death has drawn attention to the area — and to its wealth. Other gangs start to make threatening moves and it’s obvious to the senior members of the Fanling Triad that they need a leader who can fend off the threats, unite the membership, and maintain their prosperity. There are several candidates. The least conspicuous is the White Paper Fan, their young administrator. His name is Chow Tung, but many of those who work with him already refer to him as “Uncle” . . .

About the Author

Ian Hamilton

IAN HAMILTON is the author of thirteen novels in the Ava Lee series and two in the Lost Decades of Uncle Chow Tung series. His books have been shortlisted for numerous prizes, including the Arthur Ellis Award, the Barry Award, and the Lambda Literary Prize, and are national bestsellers. BBC Culture named Hamilton one of the ten mystery/crime writers from the last thirty years who should be on your bookshelf. The Ava Lee series is being adapted for television.