Groundwood Books Imprint Logo

Parvana's Journey

Written by Deborah Ellis

Series Title: Breadwinner Series

  • 176 Pages
  • 9781554980307
  • Reading age from 10 to 14
  • JUVENILE FICTION / Girls & Women
  • JUVENILE FICTION / People & Places / Middle East
  • JUVENILE FICTION / Social Situations / Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance



Publication Date October 01, 2002

The second book in the internationally-bestselling series that includes The Breadwinner, Mud City and My Name Is Parvana

A war is raging in Afghanistan as a coalition of Western forces tries to oust the Taliban by bombing the country. Parvana’s father has died, and her mother, sister and brother have gone to a faraway wedding, not knowing what has happened to the father. Parvana doesn’t know where they are. She just knows she has to find them.

She sets out alone, masquerading as a boy, her journey becoming more perilous as the bombs begin to fall. Making her way across the desolate Afghan countryside, she meets other children who are strays from the war — an infant boy in a bombed-out village, a nine-year-old girl who believes she has magical powers over land mines, and a boy with one leg who is so obnoxious that Parvana can hardly stand him. The children travel together because it is easier than being alone. And, as they forge their own family in the war zone that Afghanistan has become, their resilience, imagination and luck help them to survive.

The reissue includes a new cover and map, an updated author’s note and a glossary to provide young readers with background and context. All royalties from the sale of this book will go to Canadian Women for Women in Afghanistan. Parvana’s Fund supports education projects for Afghan women and children.

Winner of the Jane Addams Children's Book Award 2003

Winner of the OLA Golden Oak Award 2004

Winner of the Red Cedar Book Award 2005

Winner of the Ruth Schwartz Award 2003

Selected for the Top Ten 2002

Selected for the CLA Book of the Year for Children Award (Honour Book) 2003

Long-listed for the Garden State Teen Book Awards (NJLA) 2005

Long-listed for the Governor General's Literary Awards: Text 2002

Selected for the Manitoba Young Reader's Choice Award 2004

Long-listed for the OLA Red Maple Award 2004

Long-listed for the Tiny Torgi Audio 2004

Selected for the YALSA BBYA 2003


Deborah Ellis
Deborah Ellis is best known for her Breadwinner books — a series that has been published in twenty-five languages, with more than $1 million in royalties donated to Canadian Women for Women in Afghanistan and Street Kids International. She has won the Governor General’s Award, the Ruth Schwartz Award, the University of California’s Middle East Book Award, Sweden’s Peter Pan Prize, the Jane Addams Children’s Book Award, and the Vicky Metcalf Award for a Body of Work. She recently received the Ontario Library Association’s President’s Award for Exceptional Achievement, and she has been named to the Order of Ontario.