House of Anansi Press

Spin

Politics and Marketing in a Divided Age

Written by Clive Veroni

Published August 02, 2014 | ISBN 9781770893184
BUSINESS & ECONOMICS / Marketing / General

Cover of Spin

Regular price $16.95 CAD

256 pages
Digital Format

Also Available in Print

About this book

Spin

Politics and Marketing in a Divided Age

Clive Veroni

In the tradition of Malcolm Gladwell’s Outliers and Daniel Kahneman’s Thinking Fast and Slow, Clive Veroni’s Spin is a fascinating investigation of how the techniques of political strategists are being applied to the world of consumer marketing.

In the early twentieth century political operatives did their work in the backroom, a shady place of secret deals and dark arts. By the middle of the century, the politicos were heading to Madison Avenue to learn the techniques of mass communication and persuasion. Today, they have moved from the dim light of the backroom to the bright lights of the war room, the central command for political campaigns. And along the way the pupil has surpassed the teacher.

Aided by masses of data, sophisticated computer modelling, and smart manipulation of social media, political strategists are reshaping the way voters think. And act. Forward-thinking marketers are now adopting these techniques to convince consumers to buy their products. The strategies being used to influence our choices at the ballot box will soon be used to influence our choices in the grocery store.

Drawing on political and marketing stories from North America, Europe, and beyond, Spin gives readers an insider’s view of this stunning turnaround. The book will focus on well-known characters from the worlds of politics and marketing and reveal how all of us will be affected by the surprising new ways in which companies will try to persuade us to vote for their brands.

About the Author

Clive Veroni

CLIVE VERONI is a leading marketing strategist and political commentator. He is a consultant on branding, marketing and advertising to a wide variety of blue-chip clients across North America. He is also a sought-after public speaker and a frequent political analyst on radio and television. His writing has also appeared in the Globe and Mail, the Hill Times, and the Literary Review of Canada. He lives in Toronto, Ontario.

Awards and Praise
Years ago, backroom political hacks embraced modern consumer marketing techniques and promptly changed the face of politics for ever. In Spin, Clive Veroni brilliantly illuminates how marketers have now turned to political operatives to learn how moving minds can also move products. Chock full of real life case studies, Veroni’s thoughtful and flawless prose tells a powerful story. This is a must-read for marketers.
  • Short-listed National Business Book Award, 2015