House of Anansi Press

The 2018 Griffin Poetry Prize Anthology

A Selection of the Shortlist   |   Griffin Poetry Prize Anthology: Book 2018

Edited by Ian Williams • Edited by Sarah Howe • Edited by Ben Lerner

Published June 05, 2018 | ISBN 9781487003852
POETRY / Anthologies

Cover of The 2018 Griffin Poetry Prize Anthology

Regular price $16.95 CAD

120 pages
Digital Format

Also Available in Print

About this book

The 2018 Griffin Poetry Prize Anthology

A Selection of the Shortlist

Ian Williams • Sarah Howe • Ben Lerner

Griffin Poetry Prize Anthology: Book 2018

The highly anticipated annual anthology of the best Canadian and international poetry.

Each year, the best books of poetry published in English internationally and in Canada are honoured with the Griffin Poetry Prize, one of the world’s most prestigious and richest literary awards. Since 2001 this annual prize has tremendously spurred interest in and recognition of poetry, focusing worldwide attention on the formidable talent of poets writing in English and works in translation. Each year The Griffin Poetry Prize Anthology features the work of the extraordinary poets shortlisted for the awards and introduces us to some of the finest poems in their collections.

About the Creators

Ian Williams

IAN WILLIAMS is the author of Personals, shortlisted for the Griffin Poetry Prize and the Robert Kroetsch Poetry Book Award; Not Anyone’s Anything, winner of the Danuta Gleed Literary Award for the best first collection of short fiction in Canada; and You Know Who You Are, a finalist for the ReLit Prize for poetry. His first novel, Reproduction, is forthcoming. He was named as one of ten Canadian writers to watch by the CBC. Williams completed his Ph.D. in English at the University of Toronto and teaches poetry in the Creative Writing Program at the University of British Columbia. He was the 2014–15 Canadian Writer-in-Residence for the University of Calgary’s Distinguished Writers Program.

Sarah Howe

SARAH HOWE is a British poet, academic and editor. Her first book, Loop of Jade (2015), won the T.S. Eliot Prize and The Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year Award. Born in Hong Kong to an English father and Chinese mother, she moved to England as a child. Her pamphlet, A Certain Chinese Encyclopedia (2009), won an Eric Gregory Award from the Society of Authors. She is the founding editor of Prac Crit, an online journal of poetry and criticism. She held fellowships at the University of Cambridge, Harvard University’s Radcliffe Institute, and University College London before recently taking up a lectureship in poetry at King’s College London.

Ben Lerner

BEN LERNER is the author of three books of poetry (The Lichtenberg Figures, Angle of Yaw, and Mean Free Path), two novels (Leaving the Atocha Station, and 10:04), and a work of criticism (The Hatred of Poetry). He has received fellowships from the Fulbright, Guggenheim, and MacArthur Foundations, among many other honours.