The Ava Lee Series Bundle 2

The Wild Beasts of Wuhan: Book 3, The Red Pole of Macau: Book 4, The Scottish Banker of Surabaya: Book 5, The Two Sisters of Borneo: Book 6   |   An Ava Lee Collection: Book 2

Written by Ian Hamilton

Published December 17, 2013 | ISBN 9781770898295
FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths

Cover of The Ava Lee Series Bundle 2

Regular price $24.95 CAD

1723 pages
Digital Format

About this book

The Ava Lee Series Bundle 2

The Wild Beasts of Wuhan: Book 3, The Red Pole of Macau: Book 4, The Scottish Banker of Surabaya: Book 5, The Two Sisters of Borneo: Book 6

Ian Hamilton

An Ava Lee Collection: Book 2

Exclusive bundle of books 3, 4, 5 and 6 in the wildly popular Ava Lee series.

This bundle includes:

In The Wild Beasts of Wuhan, Uncle and Ava are summoned by Wong Changxing, “The Emperor of Hubei” and one of the most powerful men in China, when he discovers that the Fauvist paintings he recently acquired are in fact forgeries.

Ava uncovers a ring of fraudulent art dealers and follows their twisted trail to Denmark, the Faroe Islands, Dublin, London, and New York. But the job is further complicated by Wong’s second wife, the cunning and seductive May Ling, who threatens to interfere in Ava’s investigation. Will Ava find the perpetrators and get the Wongs’ money back? Or will May Ling get to them first . . .

In The Red Pole of Macau, Ava’s half-brother Michael is desperate to pull out of a multi-million-dollar real estate deal in the territory of Macau. The developers are threatening to halt construction unless Michael and his business partner put up another $80 million; the bank is looking for repayment on their loan; and her father is prepared to sell everything to protect his first-born son. As Ava follows the money trail, she finds herself drawn deeper and deeper into Hong Kong’s dark and deadly world of organized crime.

In the fifth installment, The Scottish Banker of Surabaya, Ava begins an investigation into what she thinks is a Ponzi scheme. The trail leads her to a bank in Indonesia that is run by a Scot, but in actuality is a front for an elaborate money-laundering operation for Italian mobsters. The relationship between Ava and the Scotsman turns nasty and personal. Meanwhile, Uncle’s health problems become apparent . . .

In The Two Sisters of Borneo, Ava has been in Hong Kong looking after Uncle. She has also set up an investment company with May Ling Wong and her sister-in-law, Amanda Yee. One of their first investments — a furniture company owned by two sisters in Kota Kinabalu, Borneo — runs into immediate problems with a Dutch customer. Ava goes to the Netherlands to investigate, but her life is threatened when she is confronted by a gang of local thugs in Borneo. Out of the shadows comes a mysterious man from Shanghai . . .

About the Author

Ian Hamilton

IAN HAMILTON is the author of the Ava Lee series. The books have been shortlisted for numerous prizes, including the Arthur Ellis Award, the Barry Award, and the Lambda Literary Prize, and are national bestsellers. The Water Rat of Wanchai was the winner of the Arthur Ellis Award for Best First Novel and was named a best book of the year by Amazon.ca, the Toronto Star, and Quill & Quire. BBC Culture named Hamilton “One of the Ten Mystery/Crime Writers from the Last Thirty Years That Should Be on Your Bookshelf.” The series is being adapted for television.