Anansi Digital

The North-South Project

An Anthology of the Lost

Written by Noah Richler

Published June 20, 2015 | ISBN 9781487000424

Cover of The North-South Project

Regular price $4.99 CAD

Digital Format

About this book

The North-South Project

An Anthology of the Lost

Noah Richler

The North-South Project is an original work of collective storytelling made up of prose pieces that consider what it means to be lost, the significance of memory, imagination, and history, and how all of these intersect and contribute to our sense of place and belonging. Edited by Noah Richler, author, journalist, cultural critic, and Literary & Ideas Curator of Toronto’s Luminato Festival, this anthology brings together thirteen acclaimed writers who take us across the Americas, from the Arctic to Argentina. These original pieces, which were performed in Toronto as part of the Luminato Festival on June 20, 2015, represent an array of experiences of the Americas and remind us that understanding what it means to be lost is one of many stories.

With contributions from

Carmen Aguirre
Laakkuluk Williamson Bathory
Joseph Boyden
Ins Choi
Edwidge Danticat
Alain Farah
Nalo Hopkinson
Mariano Pensotti
Beatriz Pizano
Richard Rodriguez
Leanne Betasamosake Simpson
Antonio Skármeta

The North-South Project was commissioned by Luminato Festival as part of its celebration of the Americas in the year of Toronto’s hosting of the Pan American and Parapan American Games. It premiered on June 20, 2015, at the Festival Hub in David Pecaut Square in Toronto, Canada. Find out more about Luminato at

All proceeds from the sale of The North-South Project e-book, available free to ticket holders of The North-South Project through Luminato Festival and House of Anansi’s websites, will be donated for the care of victims of Mexico’s drug war.

About the Author

Noah Richler

Noah Richler is a former BBC and CBC radio producer and host, a podcaster (128 Sterling, for the House of Anansi), and author. He has won several National Magazine Awards and his first book, This is My Country, What’s Yours? (2006), was named one of the Top Ten Books of the Decade by Maclean’s magazine and won the 2007 B.C. Award for Canadian Non-Fiction. What We Talk About When We Talk About War (2012) was a Governor-General’s Literary Award finalist and was shortlisted for the Shaughnessy Cohen Award for Political Writing, as was The Candidate, Fear and Loathing on the Campaign Trail (2016), which was also nominated for a Stephen Leacock Award for humour.