The Shadow

The Shadow

Written by: Raabe, Melanie
Translated by: Taylor, Imogen

Ruth Ware meets Shari Lapena in this internationally bestselling psychological thriller about the inescapable pull of destiny and revenge.

Norah Richter has recently moved from Berlin to Vienna, hoping to put her old life behind her. While walking to her new office one morning, Norah is approached by an elderly woman who utters these chilling words:

On the eleventh of February, you will kill a man called Arthur Grimm …
With good reason. And of your own free will.

Norah is unnerved — many years earlier, something terrible happened to her on February 11 — but she chooses to shrug off the encounter as mere coincidence, until a few days later when she meets a man named Arthur Grimm.

Soon Norah begins to have a dreadful suspicion: Does she have a good reason to hate this man she’s never met? Could he be responsible for the tragic event in her past? And can Norah make sure that justice is done without committing murder?

Ruth Ware meets Shari Lapena in this internationally bestselling psychological thriller about the inescapable pull of destiny and revenge.

Norah Richter has recently moved from Berlin to Vienna, hoping to put her old life behind her. While walking to her new office one morning, Norah is approached by an elderly woman who utters these chilling words:

On the eleventh of February, you will kill a man called Arthur Grimm …
With good reason. And of your own free will.

Norah is unnerved — many years earlier, something terrible happened to her on February 11 — but she chooses to shrug off the encounter as mere coincidence, until a few days later when she meets a man named Arthur Grimm.

Soon Norah begins to have a dreadful suspicion: Does she have a good reason to hate this man she’s never met? Could he be responsible for the tragic event in her past? And can Norah make sure that justice is done without committing murder?

Published By House of Anansi Press Inc - Jan 5, 2021
Specifications 336 pages | 5.25 in x 8 in

PRAISE FOR MELANIE RAABE AND THE SHADOW

“Fans of Ruth Ware should love this creepy psychological suspense novel from one of Germany’s hottest new crime authors. It drips with atmosphere and has a meandering plot that allows for plenty of reflection on the past … Raabe is definitely on my watch list for future books.” — Globe and Mail

PRAISE FOR MELANIE RAABE AND THE TRAP

“A fast, twisty read for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn.” Booklist

“Intricately constructed … nicely done twists and turns.” Kirkus Reviews

“Suspenseful … taut storytelling.” Publishers Weekly

“You won’t be able to resist.” Elle UK

The Trap is a page-turner. It’s clever, devious, and driven and twists the reader inside out until it reaches a terrific ending. What a great start to a writing career for Melanie Raabe.” — Ian Hamilton, author of the Ava Lee novels and the Lost Decades of Uncle Chow Tung series

The Trap had me hooked from the start. Linda’s story unravels so cleverly, and Raabe keeps you questioning what’s fact and what’s not right to the end, ratcheting up the tension at the same time … A genuinely gripping debut: I had to keep reading until I was finished!” — Debbie Howells, author of The Bones of You

“A page-turner with a plot that surprises … The storm that The Trap generates is as big as its charm.” Die Welt (Germany)

“A smart and enthralling psychological thriller … splendidly entertaining.” WDR (Germany)

“A fascinating psychological thriller.” Bild (Germany)

PRAISE FOR MELANIE RAABE AND THE STRANGER UPSTAIRS

“What more could you want from a story than complete, unrelenting tension and creepiness to the point that you are nearly terrified to find out what is going to happen? That, in a nutshell, is The Stranger Upstairs — this absolute rollercoaster that makes you question everything you thought you could trust.” Magnolia Reads

“Full of suspense, right up to the final paragraphs … An edgy thriller.” AU Review

“Another unsettling and slippery psychological thriller that keeps you guessing up to the last page.” Readings

“A classic domestic noir … Generates sustained psychological suspense that gets under the skin.” Age

“The fear is palpable … You’ll be engrossed every step of the way.” Better Reading

“Raabe cleverly sets up her story, inserting twists and red herrings so that the reader is kept guessing until the final, staggering reveal. Flawlessly translated from German by Imogen Taylor, this page-turner is even better than Raabe’s debut.” BookMooch

“Raabe once again delivers an enjoyable, page-turning, high concept domestic noir thriller.” PS News

“This psychological thriller will keep you guessing until the end.” Daily Life