House of Anansi Press

The Sisters Brothers

Written by Patrick deWitt

Published May 14, 2011 | ISBN 9781770890275
FICTION / Literary

Cover of The Sisters Brothers

Regular price $18.95 CAD

336 pages
Digital Format

Also Available in Print

About this book

The Sisters Brothers

Patrick deWitt

Winner of the Governor General's Award for Fiction, the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize, the Prix des libraires du Quebec and the Stephen Leacock Medal. Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize, the Scotiabank Giller Prize, and the Walter Scott Prize.

Hermann Kermit Warm is going to die: Eli and Charlie Sisters can be counted on for that. Though Eli has never shared his brother’s penchant for whiskey and killing, he’s never known anything else. On the road to Warm’s gold-mining claim outside San Francisco -- and from the back of his long-suffering one-eyed horse -- Eli struggles to make sense of his life without abandoning the job he's sworn to do.

Patrick DeWitt, acclaimed author of Ablutions, doffs his hat to the classic Western, and then transforms it into a comic tour-de-force with an unforgettable narrative voice that captures all the absurdity, melancholy, and grit of the West -- and of these two brothers, bound to each other by blood and scars and love.

About the Author

Patrick deWitt

Patrick deWitt was born on Vancouver Island in 1975 and now lives in Portland, Oregon, with his wife and son. Visit Patrick deWitt's website:

Awards and Praise
. . . wryly comic, heartbreakingly sentimental, and immensely likable . . .
  • Short-listed Man Booker Prize for Fiction, 2011
  • Short-listed CBA Libris Award: Author of the Year, 2012
  • Short-listed CBC Bookie Awards: Literary Fiction, 2012
  • Commended Maclean's Magazine Best Books, 2011
  • Winner Stephen Leacock Memorial Medal, 2012
  • Commended Quill and Quire Book of the Year, 2011
  • Long-listed IMPAC Dublin Literary Award, 2013
  • Winner Governor General's Literary Award: Fiction, 2011
  • Short-listed Scotiabank Giller Prize, 2011
  • Winner Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize, 2011