The Substitute

The Substitute

Written by: Lundrigan, Nicole

In the tradition of Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins, The Substitute is a deliciously creepy psychological thriller that will keep you guessing until the very last page.

Warren Botts is a disillusioned Ph.D. taking a break from his lab to teach middle-school science. Gentle, soft-spoken, and introverted, Warren befriends thirteen-year-old Amanda, a lonely student looking for guidance.

One morning, Warren returns from a jog to find Amanda dead, hanging from a tree in his backyard. A police investigation follows, but Warren is unable — or unwilling — to answer the questions that swirl around him. Suspicions mount, and Warren’s peaceful neighbours quickly become hostile.

Meanwhile, an anonymous narrator who possesses a dangerous combination of extreme intelligence and emotional detachment offers insight into events past and present. As the tension builds, we gain an intimate understanding of the power of memories, secrets, and lies.

In the tradition of Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins, The Substitute is a deliciously creepy psychological thriller that will keep you guessing until the very last page.

Warren Botts is a disillusioned Ph.D. taking a break from his lab to teach middle-school science. Gentle, soft-spoken, and introverted, Warren befriends thirteen-year-old Amanda, a lonely student looking for guidance.

One morning, Warren returns from a jog to find Amanda dead, hanging from a tree in his backyard. A police investigation follows, but Warren is unable — or unwilling — to answer the questions that swirl around him. Suspicions mount, and Warren’s peaceful neighbours quickly become hostile.

Meanwhile, an anonymous narrator who possesses a dangerous combination of extreme intelligence and emotional detachment offers insight into events past and present. As the tension builds, we gain an intimate understanding of the power of memories, secrets, and lies.

Published By House of Anansi Press Inc - Jun 24, 2017
Specifications pages | 5.25 in x 8 in
Supporting Resources
(select item to download)
Excerpt

Praise for Nicole Lundrigan and The Substitute:

“Sly and clever … this book will keep readers guessing and … they’ll be surprised by how it all plays out.” — Publishers Weekly

“Lundrigan’s novel is a spine-chiller for readers who appreciate language and refined, well-crafted plots — and who aren’t afraid to delve, for a time, into the mind of a psychopath.” — Quill & Quire

“Lundrigan’s skillfully balanced blend of psychological thriller and haunting coming-of-age story is infused with creepy, small-town atmospheric suspense… . Lundrigan’s writing is both elegant and darkly humorous, delivering bare-knuckle social commentary that will appeal to fans of Gillian Flynn, Karin Fossum, and Laura Lippman” — Booklist, STARRED REVIEW

“Irresistibly clever! This creepy tale had me hooked right from the start.” — Melanie Raabe, author of The Trap

“[A] chilling psychological thriller” — CBC Books

“A feast for fans who miss Patricia Highsmith's and Margaret Millar's haunting anatomies of people as nice as pie except for their murders.” — Kirkus Reviews

“A captivating psychological thriller that balances secrets and lies with identity and family … the final twist, revealing all, is as satisfying as everything else about The Substitute.” — Mystery Scene Magazine

“Hard to put down. Nicole Lundrigan is a[n] author to keep an eye for if you love a good mystery novel, or psychological thriller!” — Red Deer Advocate

“[A] creepy thriller.” — Toronto Star

“[Lundrigan] puts the reader on edge from the outset … this psychological thriller will resonate with readers long after the last page is read.” — Maple Tree Literary Supplement

“Equal parts disturbing, suspenseful, and raw, The Substitute will have you holding your breath until the very last page.” — Ian Hamilton, award-winning author of the Ava Lee series