House of Anansi Press Imprint Logo

The Wabeno Feast

Written by Wayland Drew

  • 296 Pages
  • 9780887846632
  • 8.500" x 5.500"
  • FICTION / Action & Adventure
  • FICTION / Literary


Publication Date April 01, 2001

When an environmental disaster destroys Toronto, four childhood friends are forced to abandon their urban middle-class lives and choose the extremes by which they will survive. One man, Paul Henry, returns to the northern Ontario land of his youth, seeking to escape and endure deep within the wilderness, away from all contact with others. As he journeys in, he encounters many whose lives have formed his own and are now as crumbling and deserted as the communities which hold them. Paul's quest is an echo of the journey of another man, Drummond MacKay, an eighteenth-century fur trader whose diary Paul reads and burns as he travels further and further into a landscape that knows nothing of time or man.

A classic in Canadian literature, The Wabeno Feast was first published with Anansi in 1973. It belongs next to the Temptations of Big Bear, Surfacing, and The Diviners in the Canadian literary canon.


Wayland Drew
Wayland Drew lived and taught in Port Perry and Bracebridge, Ontario. Versatile in many genres, he was the author of twelve books, including Superior: The Haunted Shore and the science fiction trilogy The Erthring Cycle. He was awarded an honourary doctorate of letters from Trent University and a Lieutenant-Governor's Award. He died in December 1998.