Please click for more information about shipping during the COVID-19 pandemic.


The Water Rat of Wanchai + The Dragon Head of Hong Kong

Written by Ian Hamilton

Published January 18, 2014 | ISBN 9781770898127

Cover of The Water Rat of Wanchai + The Dragon Head of Hong Kong

Regular price $18.95 CAD

584 pages
Digital Format

Also Available in Print

About this book

The Water Rat of Wanchai + The Dragon Head of Hong Kong

An Ava Lee Novel: Book 1

Ian Hamilton

Meet Ava Lee — the smartest, most stylish heroine in crime fiction since Stieg Larsson’s Lisbeth Salandar — in the first installment of the wildly popular Ava Lee novels. 

Ava Lee is a young Chinese-Canadian forensic accountant, who specializes in recovering massive debts and works for an elderly Hong Kong–based “Uncle,” who may or may not have ties to the triads. At 115 lbs., she hardly seems a threat. But her razor-sharp intelligence and unorthodox rules of engagements allow her to succeed where traditional methods have failed.

In The Water Rat of Wanchai Ava is persuaded to help an old friend of Uncle’s, whose nephew is owed $5 million from a seafood company that was producing cooked shrimp for a major U.S. retailer. The deal went sideways. The money disappeared. 

On a journey that takes her to Hong Kong, Bangkok, Guyana, and the British Virgin Islands, Ava encounters everything from the Thai katoey culture to corrupt but helpful law enforcers. But it’s in Guyana where she meets her match: Captain Robbins, a godfather-like figure who controls the police, politicians, and criminals alike. In exchange for his help, Robbins decides he wants a piece of Ava’s $5 million action and will do whatever it takes to get his fair share…

About the Author

Ian Hamilton

IAN HAMILTON is the acclaimed author of fourteen novels in the Ava Lee series and three in the Lost Decades of Uncle Chow Tung series. His books have been shortlisted for numerous prizes, including the Arthur Ellis Award, the Barry Award, and the Lambda Literary Prize, and are national bestsellers. BBC Culture named Hamilton one of the ten mystery/crime writers from the last thirty years who should be on your bookshelf. Bonnie Jack is his first stand-alone novel.