Please click for more information about shipping during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Anansi International

Hack Attack

The Inside Story of How the Truth Caught Up with Rupert Murdoch

Written by Nick Davies

Published August 12, 2014 | ISBN 9781770891821
TRUE CRIME / White Collar Crime

Cover of Hack Attack

Regular price $29.95 CAD

| 9 in × 6 in
Print Format

Also Available as an Ebook

About this book

Hack Attack

The Inside Story of How the Truth Caught Up with Rupert Murdoch

Nick Davies

Since 2006, award-winning investigative journalist Nick Davies has worked tirelessly — determined, driven, brilliant — to uncover the truth about the goings on behind the scenes at the News of the World and News International. This book brings us the definitive, inside story of the whole scandal.

In Hack Attack: The Inside Story of How the Truth Caught Up with Rupert Murdoch, Nick Davies reveals how he worked with a network of lawyers, politicians, and celebrities to expose the facts and to stand up to Rupert Murdoch, arguably one of the most powerful men in the world; how News International attempted to protect itself with lies and threats and money; how the police and the press regulators failed; how the prime minister ended up with the wrong man inside his office. This book discloses in detail for the first time the full extent of crimes committed by the corporation and other Fleet Street papers, and probes the relationship between Murdoch and his network with government. It is also a thrilling, nail-biting account of an investigative journalist’s journey, showing us how the quest unfolded, and is a shining example of the might of good journalism. This is not simply a story about journalists behaving badly, this is a story about power and truth.

Ambitious, comprehensive, gripping, essential — Hack Attack is the definitive book about the biggest scandal of our age. There will be no other book like it.

About the Author

Nick Davies

Nick Davies writes investigative stories for the Guardian, and has been named Journalist of the Year, Reporter of the Year, and Feature Writer of the Year in British press awards. He also makes television documentaries and he has written four books: White Lies, which uncovered a racist miscarriage of justice in Texas; Murder on Ward Four, which examined the collapse of the NHS through the murder of children by Nurse Beverly Allitt; Dark Heart, a journey through the wasteland of British poverty; and Flat Earth News, exposing falsehood and propaganda in news media. He lives in Sussex, U.K.