Ebooks are temporarily unavailable from our website. We apologize for this inconvenience.

Groundwood Books

No Safe Place

Written by Deborah Ellis

For kids - 14 years old | Published September 01, 2010 | ISBN 9780888999740
YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Emigration & Immigration

Cover of No Safe Place

Regular price $9.95 CAD

208 pages | 7 in × 5 in
Print Format

About this book

No Safe Place

Deborah Ellis

Finalist for the Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children's Book Award

Orphaned and plagued with the grief of losing everyone he loves, fifteen-year-old Abdul has made a long, fraught journey from his war-torn home in Baghdad, only to end up in The Jungle -- the squalid, makeshift migrant community in Calais.

When an altercation at the soup kitchen ends up with him accidently stabbing a policeman, Abdul has to flee, and in desperation he takes a spot in a small boat heading to England. A sudden skirmish leaves the boat stalled in the middle of the Channel, the pilot dead, and four young people remaining -- Abdul; Rosalia, a Romani girl who has escaped from the white slave trade; Cheslav, gone AWOL from a Russian military school; and Jonah, the boat pilot's ten-year-old nephew.

The four of them end up hijacking a yacht and, despite their fear and mistrust, they form a kind of makeshift family. And as the authorities close in on them, they find refuge in an unusual place -- a child's secret cave on the English coast.

About the Author

Deborah Ellis

Deborah Ellis is a member of the Order of Canada. She has won the University of California’s Middle East Book Award, Sweden’s Peter Pan Prize, the Governor General’s Award, and the Jane Addams Children’s Book Award. She is best known for her Breadwinner series, which has been published in twenty-five languages, with $2 million in royalties donated to Canadian Women for Women in Afghanistan and Street Kids International. deborahellis.com

Awards and Praise
  • Short-listed SYRCA Snow Willow Award, 2011
  • Commended Resource Links' Year's Best, 2010
  • Commended CCBC Best Books for Kids & Teens, 2011
  • Commended OLA Best Bets, 2010