Anansi International

Our Endless Numbered Days

Written by Claire Fuller

Published March 01, 2015 | ISBN 9781770898240
FICTION / Literary

Cover of Our Endless Numbered Days

Regular price $19.95 CAD

304 pages | 8.5 in × 5.5 in
Print Format

Also Available as an Ebook

About this book

Our Endless Numbered Days

Claire Fuller

Reader's Guide ↓

Watch for Claire Fuller’s newest novel, Swimming Lessons, coming January 2016

Winner of the Desmond Elliott Prize for Best First Novel

"Both shocking and subtle, brilliant and beautiful, a poised and elegant work that recalls the early work of Ian McEwan in the delicacy of its prose and the way that this is combined with some very dark undertones." — Desmond Elliott Prize Jury

In the tradition of Winter’s Bone and The Outlander, Our Endless Numbered Days is a powerful and mysterious debut about a father and his eight-year-old daughter who abandon their family to live alone in the forest for nine years.

In 1976 Peggy Hillcoat is eight. She spends her summer camping with her father, playing her beloved record of The Railway Children, and listening to her mother’s grand piano. But her life is about to change.

Her survivalist father, who has been stockpiling provisions to prepare for the end of the world, takes her from London to a cabin in a remote European forest. There he tells Peggy the rest of the world has disappeared. She is not seen again for another nine years.

In 1985, Peggy has returned to the family home. But what happened to her in the forest? And why — and how — has she come back now? Our Endless Numbered Days is the most unputdownable and extraordinary novel you will read this year.

About the Author

Claire Fuller

CLAIRE FULLER was born in Oxfordshire, England, in 1967. She received a degree in sculpture from Winchester School of Art, but went on to have a long career in marketing and didn’t start writing until she was forty. Her first novel, Our Endless Numbered Days, won the Desmond Elliot Prize and was a finalist for the ABA Adult Debut Book of the Year Award and the Edinburgh International Book Festival First Book Award. She has an MA in Creative and Critical Writing from the University of Winchester and lives in Hampshire with her husband and two children.

Awards and Praise
  • Winner Desmond Elliott Prize for Best First Novel, 2015