Please click for more information about shipping during the COVID-19 pandemic.

House of Anansi Press

The 2015 Griffin Poetry Prize Anthology

A Selection of the Shortlist Griffin Poetry Prize Anthology

Edited by Tim Bowling • Edited by Fanny Howe • Edited by Piotr Sommer

Published June 06, 2015 | ISBN 9781770899681
POETRY / Anthologies

Cover of The 2015 Griffin Poetry Prize Anthology

Regular price $19.95 CAD

128 pages | 8.5 in × 5.5 in
Print Format

About this book

The 2015 Griffin Poetry Prize Anthology

A Selection of the Shortlist

Griffin Poetry Prize Anthology

Tim Bowling • Fanny Howe • Piotr Sommer

The highly anticipated annual anthology of the best Canadian and international poetry.

Each year, the best books of poetry published in English internationally and in Canada are honoured with the Griffin Poetry Prize, one of the world’s most prestigious and richest literary awards. Since 2001 this annual prize has acted as a tremendous spur to interest in and recognition of poetry, focusing worldwide attention on the formidable talent of poets writing in English. And each year The Griffin Poetry Prize Anthology features the work of the extraordinary poets shortlisted for the awards, and introduces us to some of the finest poems in their collections.

In choosing the 2015 shortlist, prize jurors Tim Bowling, Fanny Howe, and Piotr Sommer will consider hundreds of collections published in 2014. The jury members will also write the citations that introduce the seven poets’ nominated works.

Royalties generated from The 2015 Griffin Poetry Prize Anthology will be donated to UNESCO’s World Poetry Day, which was created to support linguistic diversity through poetic expression and to offer endangered languages the opportunity to be heard in their communities.

Shortlist to be announced: April 7, 2015
Readings: June 3, 2015
Prizes awarded: June 4, 2015

About the Creators

Tim Bowling

Tim Bowling is the author of twelve poetry collections, including Selected Poems and Circa Nineteen Hundred and Grief. He has also published four novels and two works of nonfiction. His work has received a Guggenheim Fellowship, two nominations for the Governor General’s Literary Award, two Writers’ Trust nominations, and five Alberta Book Awards. Originally from Ladner, British Columbia, he now resides in Edmonton, Alberta.

Fanny Howe

Fanny Howe has written numerous books of fiction and poetry and has won a Guggenheim Fellowship and the Ruth Lilly Lifetime Achievement Award, among others. Her most recent collection of poetry, Second Childhood, was published in 2014. She lives in Massachusetts and is currently a Visiting Writer at Brown University.

Piotr Sommer

Piotr Sommer has written numerous books in Polish, including a selected poems Po ciemku tez. His poetry has been translated into many languages. He has also published two books of essays, as well as translations of American, English, and Irish verse into Polish. His books in English are Things to Translate, Continued, and Overdoing It. He has taught at several American universities and has been awarded numerous prizes and fellowships. He lives outside of Warsaw, Poland.

Awards and Praise

Praise for The Griffin Poetry Prize Anthology:

“The world’s premier international poetry prize.” — Maclean’s

“The Griffin Poetry Prize is a rich tribute to an art form largely and stupidly ignored by the public … an annual report on the state of the poetry nation.” — Globe and Mail

“The Olympics of poetry.” — Sylvia Fraser, Toronto Life

“Already of the first calibre — a great shortlist, great judges, great trustees, great intent.” — National Post

“I am very pleased to have been able to help with the inception of this important prize. Poetry is at the heart of language; it’s good to see it given the recognition it deserves.” — Margaret Atwood on the inaugural 2001 anthology