Spiderline Imprint Logo

The Wild Beasts of Wuhan

Written by Ian Hamilton

Series Title: An Ava Lee Novel

  • 352 Pages
  • 9780887842535
  • 8" x 5.25"
  • FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths



Publication Date February 01, 2012

An iTunes Store Best Book

Ava is back, and she is tougher than ever as she uncovers the secret world of art fraud, in the third book in the wildly popular and bestselling Ava Lee Series.

In The Wild Beasts of Wuhan, Uncle and Ava are summoned by Wong Changxing, “The Emperor of Hubei” and one of the most powerful men in China, when he discovers that the Fauvist paintings he recently acquired are in fact forgeries.

Ava uncovers a ring of fraudulent art dealers and follows their twisted trail to Denmark, the Faroe Islands, Dublin, London, and New York. But the job is further complicated by Wong’s second wife, the cunning and seductive May Ling, who threatens to interfere in Ava’s investigation.

Will Ava find the perpetrators and get the Wongs’ money back? Or will May Ling get to them first . . .

Selected for the iTunes Store Best Book of 2012 2012


Ian Hamilton

IAN HAMILTON is the author of the Ava Lee series. The books have been shortlisted for numerous prizes, including the Arthur Ellis Award, the Barry Award, and the Lambda Literary Prize, and are national bestsellers. The Water Rat of Wanchai was the winner of the Arthur Ellis Award for Best First Novel and was named a best book of the year by Amazon.ca, the Toronto Star, and Quill & Quire. BBC Culture named Hamilton one of the ten mystery/crime writers from the last thirty years that should be on your bookshelf. The series is being adapted for television.


"[Ava Lee] is definitely a winner." Saskatoon StarPhoenix

"I’m devouring each book as it comes out. I’m impressed with Ava’s character development as the series progresses ... if you want a great read and an education in high-level business dealings, Ian Hamilton is an author to watch." Toronto Star

"... my favourite new mystery series ... perfect escapism ..." National Post

"The Wild Beasts of Wuhan is an entertaining dip into potentially fatal worlds of artistic skulduggery." Sudbury Star

"... Hamilton uses Ava’s investigations as comprehensive and intriguing mechanisms for plot and character development." Quill and Quire

"... fast-paced and very entertaining." Montreal Gazette

"The Wild Beasts of Wuhan is the best Ava Lee novel yet, and promises more and better to come." Globe and Mail

"The very interesting story puts Lee into the world of international fine art as she tries to find out how a client in China was cheated in some very expensive purchases." Guelph Mercury

"Clearly conversant with the art world, Hamilton makes the intricacies of forgery as interesting as a Ponzi scheme." Publishers Weekly

"You haven’t seen cold and calculating until you’ve double-crossed this number cruncher. Another strong entry from Arthur Ellis Award–winner Hamilton." Booklist

"An intelligent kick-ass heroine anchors Canadian author Hamilton’s excellent third novel featuring forensic accountant Ava Lee…Clearly conversant with the art world, Hamilton makes the intricacies of forgery as interesting as a Ponzi scheme." Publishers Weekly

"A lively series about Ava Lee, a sexy forensic financial investigator." Tampa Bay Times

"This book is miles from the ordinary. The main character, Ava Lee is ‘the whole package.’" Minneapolis Star Tribune

"A strong heroine is challenged to discover the details of an intercontinental art scheme. Although Hamilton’s star Ava Lee (The Disciple of Las Vegas, 2013) is technically a forensic accountant, she’s more badass private investigator than desk jockey." Kirkus Reviews