Please click for more information about shipping during the COVID-19 pandemic.


The King of Shanghai

An Ava Lee Novel: Book 7

Written by Ian Hamilton

Published January 17, 2015 | ISBN 9781770892460

Cover of The King of Shanghai

Regular price $19.95 CAD

408 pages | 8 in × 5.25 in
Print Format

Also Available as an Ebook

About this book

The King of Shanghai

An Ava Lee Novel: Book 7

Ian Hamilton

The seventh novel in the Ava Lee series finds Ava caught up in the election for the chairmanship of the Triad Societies.

It’s been three months since Uncle’s passing, and Ava is finally ready to begin her new life as a partner with May Ling Wong and her sister-in-law Amanda in their Three Sisters venture capital firm. Ava travels to Shanghai to hear a pitch on a new investment possibility: the creation of a fashion line by Clark and Gillian Po. She also meets with the mysterious Xu, a young man Uncle had been mentoring and who is the head of the triad in Shanghai. Xu makes an audacious business proposal that she and May Ling are compelled to consider. Meanwhile, separately and privately, he confides to Ava that he intends to run for the chairmanship of the Triad Societies and attempts to recruit her as his adviser.

Against her will, Ava becomes enmeshed in triad warfare and her future is threatened…

About the Author

Ian Hamilton

IAN HAMILTON is the acclaimed author of fourteen novels in the Ava Lee series and three in the Lost Decades of Uncle Chow Tung series. His books have been shortlisted for numerous prizes, including the Arthur Ellis Award, the Barry Award, and the Lambda Literary Prize, and are national bestsellers. BBC Culture named Hamilton one of the ten mystery/crime writers from the last thirty years who should be on your bookshelf. Bonnie Jack is his first stand-alone novel. 

Awards and Praise
a solid addition to the Ava Lee series…Ava is as powerful and brilliant as ever.