Starred Reviews

Starred Reviews

Vetted and praised by top reviewers, the books in this collection come highly recommended.

144 Products

  • Grid List

The Ranger

In the sequel to The Outlaw, a ranger and a fox form a special and unexpected friendship while navigating an indifferent and dangerous wilderness.

The Secret Life of Owen Skye

Owen Skye is skinny and quiet and has big ears. He does everything his older brother says, while trying to stay one step ahead of his little brother.

The Servant

Faten’s happy life in her village comes to an abrupt end due to the civil war in Lebanon. An inspiring coming-of-age novel full of strength and hope.

The Several Lives of Orphan Jack

In the tradition of Natalie Babbitt, Sarah Ellis brings her quirky sense of humor and imagination to bear in this witty, warm fable.

The Shepherd's Granddaughter

For generations Amani's family has grazed sheep above the family homestead near Hebron, but now her home is being threatened by Jewish settlements.

The Spotted Dog Last Seen

While volunteering at a local graveyard, Derek discovers that solving a mystery from long ago will also help him put his own present-day fears to rest.

The Triumphant Tale of the House Sparrow

The extraordinary story of one of the most adaptable creatures on Earth.

The White Cat and the Monk

A monk leads a simple life, studying his books and searching for truth. One evening, his cat, Pangur, leads the monk to the truth he has been seeking.

This One Summer

A unique story of friendship from the creators of the award-winning graphic novel Skim.

Three Wishes

Deborah Ellis presents the stories of children of the war-torn Middle East, based on interviews with Israeli and Palestinian children.

Town Is by the Sea

In a small mining town, a young boy enjoys a summer day, but his thoughts constantly return to his father, who is digging for coal deep under the sea.

True Confessions of a Heartless Girl

Acclaimed novelist Martha Brooks has written an unforgettable story about a terribly complex heroine and the effects she has on those around her.