House of Anansi Press


Written by Kathleen Winter

Published February 26, 2011 | ISBN 9780887842900
FICTION / Literary

Cover of Annabel

Regular price $19.95 CAD

480 pages | 8 in × 5.25 in
Print Format

Also Available as an Ebook

About this book


Anansi Book Club Editions

Kathleen Winter

Reader's Guide ↓

Shortlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize, the Governor General's Award for Fiction, and the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize

In 1968, into the beautiful, spare environment of remote coastal Labrador, a mysterious child is born: a baby who appears to be neither fully boy nor girl, but both at once.

Only three people are privy to the secret — the baby's parents, Jacinta and Treadway, and a trusted neighbour, Thomasina. Together the adults make a difficult decision: to raise the child as a boy named Wayne. But as Wayne grows to adulthood within the hyper-masculine hunting culture of his father, his shadow-self — a girl he thinks of as "Annabel" — is never entirely extinguished, and indeed is secretly nurtured by the women in his life.

Haunting, sweeping in scope, and stylistically reminiscent of Jeffrey Eugenides' Middlesex, Annabel is a compelling tale about one person's struggle to discover the truth about their birth and self in a culture that shuns contradiction.

About the Author

Kathleen Winter

Kathleen Winter is the author of the international bestseller, Annabel, which was a finalist for the Scotiabank Giller Prize, the Governor General’s Literary Award, the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize, the Orange Prize for Fiction, and CBC’s Canada Reads. Her first collection of stories, boys, won both the Winterset Award and the Metcalf–Rooke Award. A long-time resident of St. John’s, Newfoundland, she now lives in Montreal.

Awards and Praise
  • Short-listed Governor General's Award: Fiction, 2010
  • Commended Quill and Quire Books of the Year, 2010
  • Commended Best Books of the Year, 2010
  • Commended Globe and Mail Top 100 Books of the Year, 2010
  • Short-listed Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize, 2010
  • Winner Independent Literary Awards, 2010
  • Long-listed IMPAC Dublin Literary Award, 2011
  • Short-listed CBC Bookies: Best Scene, 2011
  • Short-listed OLA Evergreen Award, 2011
  • Short-listed Scotiabank Giller Prize, 2010