Ebooks are temporarily unavailable from our website. We apologize for this inconvenience.

House of Anansi Press

Our Lady of Pain

Written by Elena Forbes

Published September 08, 2008 | ISBN 9780887848117
FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Police Procedural

Cover of Our Lady of Pain

Regular price $19.95 CAD

352 pages | 9.000 in × 6.000 in
Print Format

About this book

Our Lady of Pain

A Mark Tartaglia Mystery: Book 2

Elena Forbes

Reader's Guide ↓

In the second novel in Elena Forbes’ bestselling mystery series, DI Mark Tartaglia’s investigation into a murder becomes a hunt for a possible serial killer.

Hurting is her special skill.

On a snowy February morning, London art dealer Rachel Tenison goes for a jog through Holland Park. Still giddy from the previous evening, her legs wobbly from too much drink and too little sleep, she falls at the bottom of an icy hill. Lying on her back, she savours the sensation of snowflakes melting on her skin and the unexpected stillness of the moment. But then there’s the sharp crack of a tree branch behind her, and a voice softly calling her name.

Two days later, detectives Mark Tartaglia and Sam Donovan are assigned to the case when Rachel’s naked, frozen body is discovered in the park, bound and arranged in a strangely symbolic manner. Still haunted by “The Bridegroom,” a chillingly seductive serial killer with a penchant for lonely girls and deadly heights, they’re forced to put the past behind them as they try to catch Rachel’s murderer. But when a tip from a journalist draws their attention to grisly similarities between this and another unsolved crime, the web becomes more tangled than ever.

About the Author

Elena Forbes

Elena Forbes is the author of the Mark Tartaglia mystery series. The first novel in the series, Die with Me, was a finalist for the Crime Writers’ Association John Creasey New Blood Dagger; and the second novel, Our Lady of Pain, was a Globe and Mail Top 10 Crime Book and a National Post pick for Best Crime Fiction. She lives in London, England, with her husband and children.

Awards and Praise
  • Commended Best Crime Fiction of the Year, Marion Misters (National Post), 2008
  • Commended Top 10 Crime Books, Margaret Cannon (Globe and Mail), 2008