House of Anansi Press Imprint Logo

The Griffin Poetry Prize 2003 Anthology

Edited by Sharon Thesen

Series Title: Griffin Poetry Prize Anthology

  • 96 Pages
  • 9780887846878
  • 8.500" x 5.060"
  • POETRY / Anthologies (multiple authors)
  • POETRY / Canadian


Publication Date April 01, 2003

The best books of poetry published in English internationally and in Canada are honoured each year with the Griffin Poetry Prize, one of the world's richest and most prestigious literary prizes. The Griffin Poetry Prize Anthology: A Selection of the 2003 Shortlist includes poems from the seven exceptional books shortlisted for the 2003 prize. Selections include poems from Kathleen Jamie's Mr and Mrs Scotland Are Dead: Poems 1980-1994; Paul Muldoon's Moy Sand and Gravel; Gerald Stern's American Sonnets: Poems; C. D. Wright's Steal Away: Selected and New Poems; Margaret Avison's Concrete and Wild Carrot; Dionne Brand's thirsty; and P. K. Page's Planet Earth: Poems Selected and New. Prize jurors Michael Longley, Sharon Olds, and Sharon Thesen chose the outstanding shortlist and wrote the citations that proceed each selection. Thesen chose the poems that appear in the anthology and wrote the introduction to the book. Royalties generated from The Griffin Poetry Prize anthologies are donated to UNESCO's World Poetry Day.


Sharon Thesen
Sharon Thesen is the author The Good Bacteria, which was a finalist for the Governor General’ s Literary Award for Poetry, the Pat Lowther Memorial Award, the Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize, and the ReLit Award, and seven previous collections of poetry. She received the Pat Lowther Memorial Award for her collection A Pair of Scissors and she has been for a finalist for the British Columbia Book Prize. She was born in Tisdale, Saskatchewan, and now lives in British Columbia, where she is a professor at University of British Columbia.